Movie Critic Matt Atchity: We Review Television Too!

Movie Critic Matt Atchity: We Review Television Too!

Posted: Updated:

Rotten Tomatoes is known for posting reviews for movies in theaters and on DVD. But starting Tuesday, the website began posting reviews for TV shows. Matt Atchity made a rare Tuesday appearance to talk about Rotten Tomatoes TV Zone.

"We're going to have tomatometers for scripted primetime television..." Unlike the movies, shows will not have just one set of reviews.

"We are doing reviews at the season level, so this is Breaking Bad season 5, this is Game of Thrones season 3."

Rotten Tomatoes TV Zone is debuting, not coincidentally, the week before the Emmys. Matt talked about how, just like with movies, there's sometimes a gap between what TV critics think and what viewers like. For instance, "Louie" is the best reviewed comedy...but doesn't have a big audience. Modern Family on the other hand is a hit show for ABC and an Emmy darling...it's also the lowest rated out of the nominees.

"Critics are watching everything whether they want to or not...so if you're not into Modern Family...the audience thats enjoying that is not the one that's like "oh, I'm on the fence about this, I don't like this kind of show but I'm going to watch it anyway."

Matt also noticed a big difference in how movies and TV get reviewed.

"With movies, the bigger the movie, the more critics weigh in on it...where as with television it's kinda the opposite. The bigger the audience, the less likely are that critics are going to consistently review it."

 

Atchity is the editor in chief for the pop-culture website "Rotten Tomatoes." He also hosts a new show on Sirius XM called "Rotten Tomatoes Radio."

The weekly one hour call in show airs Tuesdays and Thursdays at 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm.

‘Rotten Tomatoes TV Zone' is up now on the Rotten Tomatoes website.

  • The Latest From Good Day LAMore>>

  • George Lopez Guest Hosts Good Day LA

    George Lopez Guest Hosts Good Day LA

    Thursday, August 21 2014 12:15 PM EDT2014-08-21 16:15:10 GMT

    George Lopez was here filling in for Steve Edwards to guest host Good Day LA. He's getting ready to hit the road for his ‘Listen To My Face' tour...it kicks off August 23rd.

    George Lopez was here filling in for Steve Edwards to guest host Good Day LA. He's getting ready to hit the road for his ‘Listen To My Face' tour...it kicks off August 23rd.


  • Marco Andretti: Almost A Fairytale Ending

    Marco Andretti: Almost A Fairytale Ending

    Thursday, August 21 2014 11:30 AM EDT2014-08-21 15:30:58 GMT

    Marco Andretti continues his family's tradition of racing...and will show his stuff in Fontana later this month. In his rookie season, Marco came in second in the Indy 500...in a down to the wire finish!

    Marco Andretti continues his family's tradition of racing...and will show his stuff in Fontana later this month. In his rookie season, Marco came in second in the Indy 500...in a down to the wire finish!


  • Ole Henriksen: Rejuvenate Summer's Sun Damaged Skin

    Ole Henriksen: Rejuvenate Summer's Sun Damaged Skin

    Wednesday, August 20 2014 1:04 PM EDT2014-08-20 17:04:43 GMT
    We have Ole Henriksen with us, and he was here with some great recipes you can make at home to help rejuvenate summer's sun damaged skin.
    We have Ole Henriksen with us, and he was here with some great recipes you can make at home to help rejuvenate summer's sun damaged skin.
  • Experts and Other GuestsExperts and Other GuestsMore>>

  • Marco Andretti: Almost A Fairytale Ending

    Marco Andretti: Almost A Fairytale Ending

    Thursday, August 21 2014 11:30 AM EDT2014-08-21 15:30:58 GMT

    Marco Andretti continues his family's tradition of racing...and will show his stuff in Fontana later this month. In his rookie season, Marco came in second in the Indy 500...in a down to the wire finish!

    Marco Andretti continues his family's tradition of racing...and will show his stuff in Fontana later this month. In his rookie season, Marco came in second in the Indy 500...in a down to the wire finish!


  • Transition Clothes Into Fall Season

    Transition Clothes Into Fall Season

    Monday, August 18 2014 1:33 PM EDT2014-08-18 17:33:02 GMT
    Fall is just around the corner, and Style Expert Lindsay Albanese joined us this morning to show ways to transition our Summer-look straight into Autumn.
    Fall is just around the corner, and Style Expert Lindsay Albanese joined us this morning to show ways to transition our Summer-look straight into Autumn.
  • Dermaplaning: Before And After

    Dermaplaning: Before And After

    Monday, August 18 2014 1:27 PM EDT2014-08-18 17:27:17 GMT
    The Emmys are a week away, and if you're looking to get that glowing, dewy skin like the celebrities on the red carpet, Britta Wetteskind from European Wellness Cosmedical stopped by with a procedure called Dermaplaning.
    The Emmys are a week away, and if you're looking to get that glowing, dewy skin like the celebrities on the red carpet, Britta Wetteskind from European Wellness Cosmedical stopped by with a procedure called Dermaplaning.
Powered by WorldNow
Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices